About Us

Community Action Agencies were established throughout the country as a result of the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964 as a vehicle for undertaking locally relevant, anti-poverty initiatives. Community Action Program Region VII (CAP) was incorporated in 1976 to address the effects of poverty and to help people help themselves.

By combining resources – local, State, private and Federal, CAP enables people of all ages to secure the opportunities they need to become self-sufficient. CAP is governed by a Board of Directors composed of members from the public, private and low-income sectors of the communities served in Region VII.

The eligibility for most programs is based on either federal or state income guidelines and vary from program to program. An application and/or intake form is required to determine eligibility.

Our Mission

Community Action Program is a private, non-profit corporation whose mission is to “Community Action Program Region VII, Inc. provides a range of services designed to alleviate poverty and empower low-income people the opportunity to achieve self-sufficiency.

Service Area

Community Action Program Region VII services the following counties in North Dakota:

  • Burleigh
  • Emmons
  • Grant
  • Kidder
  • McLean
  • Mercer
  • Morton
  • Oliver
  • Sheridan
  • Sioux